Heimgartner Wins at Teretonga and Extends Championship Lead

Andre Heimgartner has continued his charge to a maiden BNT V8 title by winning round four of the championship at Teretonga this weekend.

Following up his win in race one of the weekend on Saturday, he banked more valuable points with two-second placings in today’s races.

Race two of the weekend was won by his teammate Jason Bargwanna, while the final race was won by Nick Ross who fought back following a major off in yesterday’s race one.

The class one round podium was rounded out by Jason Bargwanna with Lance Hughes in third.

For Heimgartner, he was pleased to come away with a solid points haul that extends his lead over teammate Jason Bargwanna.

“Overall it was a good weekend. We were pretty speedy all weekend, got another pole, three podiums and extending the championship lead is another positive,” said Heimgartner.

With two rounds in the championship remaining, Heimgartner is starting to focus on adding the BNT V8 championship to his racing CV.

“The New Zealand V8 title is a good thing to have under your belt and it doesn’t hurt your CV to have it on there. I’m definitely focused on it over the next two rounds.”

The class two round win went to Brock Timperley who having never raced at Teretonga before recorded a pole position two wins and a second placing. The valuable points haul aiding his chances at claiming rookie of the year honours.

“Very happy with the car this weekend, and being able to come here for the first time and adapt so quickly,” said Timperley.

“We got on top of the set-up very quickly this weekend, and it was pleasing to be fast and up the front throughout the races. It’s a big confidence boost for the rest of the season.”

The class two podium was rounded out by Chelsea Herbert and Justin Ashwell.

Herbert now takes a narrow championship lead after Liam MacDonald struck trouble with officials who found his car didn’t meet category technical requirements, and thus losing his points gained in race one.

The BNT V8s now head to Manfeild for round five of the championship, February 10-11.